Louise Clark, RCVS and EBVS European Specialist in Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia and Head of Anaesthesia at Davies Veterinary Specialists, has been appointed President of the Royal Society of Medicine’s Pain Section for 2018/19.

It is believed to be the first time the Royal Society of Medicine Pain Section Council, which comprises medical practitioners and consultants, has appointed a veterinary surgeon as President.

The Royal Society of Medicine is one of the country's major providers of postgraduate medical education and presents a neutral platform for informed debate about important, often controversial, healthcare topics.

The RSM has 56 Sections, encompassing all medical specialties. Membership of the RSM is diverse and whilst primarily catering for the needs of Medical Doctors its membership includes nurses, dentists, veterinary surgeons and other health professionals such as physiotherapists.

Louise took over the two-year Presidency on 1st October. Her immediate predecessor was Dr Anthony Ordman, Consultant in Pain Medicine and founder of the Pain Medicine Clinic at the Royal Free Hospital, London.

Louise said: "I am delighted to have the honour of serving as Section President and together as a Section Council we hope to build the profile of the RSM as a source of education for veterinary as well as medical specialists."

Whilst you're here, take a moment to see our latest job opportunities for vets.